Tags

, ,

I am not a big cake person.

I may be in the minority here, but I would prefer a piece of pie, a cookie, banana (or zucchini!) bread, or even a scone over a piece of cake. Unless it’s carrot cake. With cream cheese frosting.

Anyway, I have a few friends who think I’m crazy, but I know a few people who agree: Cake is too sweet, covered with too much frosting, and just not my first (or even second) choice for dessert. Pretty-Pies_010

Cake pops? Who needs cake pops. These NUTELLA (!!) pie pops are the coolest thing I’ve seen all week.

What I like about pie rather than just cake is that you can cater your pies to the seasons, using whatever fresh ingredients are on hand at that moment. And you can offer diversity. Obviously one pie isn’t going to feed your entire wedding party, but if you provide 10 different pies, you can really give your guests options.

You can also serve these amazing brownies if you want to offer diversity.

o face brownies

I know these brownies are amazing because I made them and almost died of chocolate decadence overload (but in a good way.)

How about you? Have you been to a wedding where something other than cake was served?