Tags

, ,

I actually heard about this a few years ago since this creamery is in a small town in Upstate, NY that isn’t too far from where I went to high school – and since this blog was not in existence yet, I didn’t think to pounce on it.  A friend from home briefly mentioned it to me and I thought she was crazy so I kind of forgot about it. Then on one of our recent weekly trips to Wegman’s, I saw it: Mercer’s Wine Ice Cream. Mercer's Wine Ice Cream I was hesitant, but for the sake of the blog, I bought a pint of their Cherry Merlot. OK, let me give you a quick background. According to their site:

Mercer’s Dairy, a local institution for over 60 years, has become an international phenomenon with its 2007 creation of the unprecedented, Mercer’s Wine Ice Cream. This product unites our premium ice cream, using milk from our owners local farms, with fabulous wines. It was awarded ‘Best New Product” at the Great American Dessert Expo and has received the prestigious American Masters of Taste award from Napa Valley. We have been featured in such publications as Wine Enthusiast, Restaurant Business Magazine, Culinary Trends, Sante, & Progressive Grocer, to name a few.

It has 5% alcohol, so yeah, there’s a good chance if you’re not paying attention that you could get a good buzz on.

The merlot’s “tang” in was offset by the sweet of the cherry, and even with 5% alcohol, it’s not overpowering.

Check out their site for the rest of the flavors they offer. This could be a great addition to your dessert table at your next winery wedding!

